Can someone recommend a debt management program?

Postby achishar » Tue May 10, 2011 6:03 am

I had previously anticipated cost of living adjustments (COSA's) for both the VA disability (I'm a disabled veteran) and Social Security disability. Thanks to the economy, my projections have been laid waste as the government has friezed those adjustments the last three years. Where I once projected having an extra $400 a month, I'm now finding myself short $45 a month and I've been borrowing against my credit cards to make all my debt payments. Keep in mind that non-credit card creditors don't care that I haven't been getting the COSA's and these bills (utilities, groceries, security, insurance, etc) keep increasing, not just annually, but some have increased monthly.
I have three credit cards: two of them charge around 21% interest and the third around 30%. I've tried to get the interest reduced and have succeeded in some cases, but after a period of time the rates go right back to what they were before. I've tried debt consolidation with my commercial banks (the bank I hold my mortgage with and the bank my checking account is with), but have been denied help by both.

So, I'm hurting.
My question is ... Is there a debt management program that you can recommend that would help me out? One that won't hurt my credit?

Or am I better off declaring bankruptcy?
I really want to pay all my bills and don't want to leave my creditors holding the bag, so bankruptcy would be the last option if there were any other way.
If it helps, I'm a disabled vet (certified 100% thirteen years ago).
achishar

Postby marchland90 » Tue May 10, 2011 6:06 am