My husband won't let our divorce end because he wants all of my money?

Postby niccolo72 » Fri Apr 01, 2011 5:16 pm

I have been trying to get a divorce since last August. My husband has a personal friend as his lawyer and they insist on playing games instead of negotiating in a reasonable way. I offered to pay off all his debts, give him 28,000 cash (his half of the equity in the house after bills) and exempt him from child support for our 16 yr. old. I would borrow from my family to do this; I'm a teacher and make a teacher's salary. He came back with spousal maintenance ($1500 a month from my monthly check of $3800), $47,000 cash, half of my retirement and joint physical custody of my 16 yr. old. He says he's unemployed, but I know he works for cash. He is now asking to see paperwork for the college accounts I have for both of my daughters (in their name and mine) and an account that has my name on it for my elderly aunt. Its a custodial account -- it's HER life savings, which I manage for her. I hold power of attorney for her, but would never take her money! Is there any end to this? We're going into financial mediation, but this seems like its neverending. Isn't there a certain degree of reasonable talk that needs to be maintained for a judge to take this seriously? And can he get my family's money? It's so frustrating. He's never attempted to save any money for his family for the 20 years we were married. The college accounts came solely from my paycheck. He spent over $1000 over 5 months on phone *** from our joint account during the marriage and was constantly on me to get my aunt's money. He claims I'm "brainwashing" my daughters to hate him, but his conduct during these proceedings and the marriage in general has made it so that I'd never have to say a word to them about him. Is my attorney this terrible, or are these hoops everyone has to jump through to get a deadbeat out of their lives?
niccolo72

Postby maureo87 » Fri Apr 01, 2011 5:17 pm