Legalities (taxes, permits, licenses) of freelance photography in Texas?

Postby seton6 » Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:43 am

I'm a sophomore in college and have been told I have an exceptional talent for photography - many people want to hire me. I'm wanting to charge for my services (weddings, sweet 16s, quinceaneras, personal photo shoots, corporate, events, etc). I need to know all of the legalities.

In all reality, this is nothing more than a "hobby" but I don;t want to break the law by not paying taxes. I'm still dependent of my parents (in regards to college federal financial aid). I'll be a student for three more years.

I purchased my Canon camera last year and seek to purchase a new expensive lens soon.

Do I need any licenses, permits to operate? I only work for myself. Also, do I need separate local permits for every part of Texas I do business? I work on-site meaning I do not own a studio, nor do I plan on acquiring one. I want to keep this business as simple as possible.

TAXES:
This is the most confusing part. Please help me.
What forms do I need to fill out?
What is the whole "tax withholding" deal about, how would that apply to me?
I am entirely new to the whole tax world so please bare with me.

As I mentioned earlier, this is really nothing more than a hobby for me and do not plan to make a living or career out of this - I plan on going into management consulting. I need the money since I want to help pay off college and buy other essential stuff. I want to be as legit as possible and don't want to run into any IRS issues. Also, there is a big revenue potential in this business (well, at least when you're a good photographer) so I want to be as transparent and law-abiding as possible.

Please guide me through this process. I sincerely need assistance. I greatly appreciate anyone who really understand this process.Thank you so much.
seton6

Postby charleton » Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:44 am